A farewell to Sir Roger Moore

Paying tribute to Sir Roger Moore

When news of the passing of Sir Roger Moore at the age of 89 reached me, I felt a huge part of my childhood flash by. As a massive James Bond fan, it was through Moore that I fell in love with the series. I still remember that Saturday night and my dad saying to me that we were going to watch a Bond film that was on the tv that evening. It was, if I recall, Octopussy.

Years later I am still hooked on the films and each year that passes I never fail to watch a handful of the Bond films.

I always had a soft spot for Sir Roger Moore’s Bond and admired his wry tongue-in-cheek delivery and ultra suave manner. Yet it was Moore’s self-depracating humour and ability to not take himself quite too seriously that resonated with me. I can honestly say I learnt some life lessons in how to be with people from Moore. A bit of charm, humour and warmth goes a long way in this world and Moore had this in spades.

I read his autiobiography a few years ago and highly recommend it if you are a fan of his work. It is not particularly heavy on gossip, but as your would expect from Moore, crammed full of amusing anecdotes and gentlemanly restraint.

Nobody did it better.

Leave a Reply

